I Want That Wednesday: THE Perfect Black Tote

How’s the Fashion Challenge going for everybody? Sticking with it? (If you’re just learning about it now, feel free to join in!) I’ll be the first to admit: It’s been pretttty rough. I’ve come to realized that almost all of my budget surplus (of which there’s very little to begin with) over the last year has gone to home goods and DIY projects. That’s left next to nothing for wardrobe updates outside of the necessities like black skinny pants and running sneakers. But that’s the whole point of the challenge: to discover what you need and rediscover good pieces you have.

One thing I discovered I was in desperate need of? A tote. I brought this up before… two friggin’ years ago! It’s been since then that I’ve needed something to schlep my lunch, flats and workout clothes to and fro the office. Since I hadn’t done a thing about it all that time, I’d resorted to carrying stuff in a reusable Target bag… Pathetic.

But that all changed one glorious day in Macy’s. I found the. perfect. bag.

Screen Shot 2014-05-14 at 4.24.21 PM

It might not look all that special, but I swear this bag is amazing. The thing I noticed right off the bat: The straps are long enough—but not too long. I am not going to hold a bag full of dirty Tupperware like a handbag when I have to stand for 40 minutes on my commute home. I need to hoist that baby up on my shoulder! It’s hard enough just to stay upright on those trains sometimes.

2848169-6-4x

I originally wanted a leather bag, but this is so, so light and the perfect size. It still has nice gold hardware (no cheesy Kipling monkey dangling, thankfully), patent leather details and a fun polka dot lining. Plus, it’s washable. Huge plus.

2848169-4-4x

I didn’t really pay attention to the pockets when I picked it out, but this thing can hold a lot of stuff. It’ll be perfect for travel—easy access to that passport and boarding pass in the outside pockets.

It’s overpriced, I know. But I like to think it was justified since I used that $1 mesh bag for half a year!

Kipling Leah bag, $99, Macy’s

(Images: Zappos)

Disclaimer: “I Want That Wednesdays” are a series of posts that, well frankly, are just of things (decor, fashion, food, etc.) I like. The products featured are never sponsored; they’re simply items I’ve come across that I’m crushing on and that I thought you might enjoy as well. Let me know if you love it/ hate it/ can’t get enough of it.

2 thoughts on “I Want That Wednesday: THE Perfect Black Tote

  1. UPDATE: Today I fit a notebook, magazine, calendar, wallet, sneakers, workout clothes AND two Tupperware containers (plus a handful of smaller things like lip gloss, gum, jump drives, etc.) and it still zipped closed. I’m telling you, this bag is amazing!

Leave a comment