Before and After: Living Room

I didn’t want to show off the living room until it’s in a more complete state, but the people have spoken… and they want to see pictures ASAP. So here’s what it looked like before I moved in:

livingroomOrange. Woof.

My original plan was to paint the entire living room Whispering Spring (which is now in the dining room). But since it’s such a large room with a nice high ceiling, I decided to go with something more dramatic and on just one wall (well, a wall and the tiny sliver of wall that separates the two rooms).

I landed on Hale Navy from Benjamin Moore. (Again, for those of you interested, I used the Ben series with an Eggshell finish, and it was about $40/gallon in Chicago.)

Hale NavySo before last weekend, this is what the living room looked like:

IMG_0908And for a little while it looked like this…

But now we’re here!DSC00753I am in LOVE with the color! (The landlords probably aren’t as thrilled…) It only took two coats to cover the white. I am definitely on board with buying more expensive, higher quality paint—in this case, you get what you pay for.

DSC00755I like the pink rug with the charcoal couch (it reminds me of this), but it doesn’t really fit with my vision for the living/dining space. Plus, it really clashes with my red Coca-Cola cooler that looks so fab against the navy. So I’m thinking about going for something lighter since the wall, couch and TV console are all dark colors. Those of you with experience: Is having a white or cream shag or flokati rug a terrible idea?

DSC00754Other things on the wish list: curtains, colorful throw pillows, wall art, new tray for the coffee table (that oval shape is just not working for me—perhaps a DIY RIBBA one?).

DSC00757Stay tuned and you can help me decide what’s next for the space. Leave me a comment if you have suggestions!

7 thoughts on “Before and After: Living Room

  1. Beautiful! Hale Navy is one of my favourites and you used it well. I think your rug would be fine if it wasn’t so small…but also from what I’ve seen in your past posts, you enjoy pattern and colour so white may bore you in quick order, plus do you have a good vacuum? I have seen many a weird thing get lost in those rugs. What about a lattice pattern or stripe or Chevron?

    • Ah, you make a very good point about the vacuum. I have a little one, but it’s mostly made for hardwood floors. Rugs are already expensive enough as it is, I’d hate to have to budget for a new vacuum too. Hmmm much to consider… Stay tuned!

  2. Tracy Goldenstein says:

    Love the new colors. But also have to say I liked the flubber green. Your mom’s color palette must be rubbing off on me!

Leave a comment