(Long) Weekend Rewind: Turkey-less Thanksgiving

Let’s just go ahead and admit it: Turkey, it’s not great. I mean, I enjoy it once a year, probably more for nostalgia reasons than anything else. So I was not upset when our meal looked more Cinco de Mayo party than Thanksgiving dinner.

IMG_3258We had tortilla chips, two kinds of salsa, queso, guacamole (which I’m getting pretty darn good at making btw!), ceviche, sausage and cheese puffs, AND tacos with all the fixins… It was definitely still a ridiculous feast. Oh, and margaritas. I’ve never eaten to the point of literally throwing up – I came close Thursday. It was all so good!

The dog and I looked the same after all that food – practically comatose. Mimi looked the best per usual.

IMG_3274We didn’t bother trying to fight the Black Friday crowds. That is just really not my thing. Plus, by some kind of miracle, I already have some of my Christmas shopping done. I had to give my dad his present early because… it’s a trip! I bought us tickets (and flights and a hotel room) to see our Hoosiers play Louisville at Madison Square Garden in a couple weeks. I. am. pumped!

Then I rounded out the weekend with a wedding – last one of the season! It’s crazy how many weddings you attend in your late 20’s… I already have two save the dates for next year! But I’m super happy for Mark and Kara, and it was fun to celebrate with the old high school gang. That’s what the holidays are all about!

Leave a Reply

