To A New Year!

I hope everyone had a fun—and safe!—New Year’s Eve. I have to say that 2014 feels an awful lot like 2013 so far… But a new year is always a good excuse to reflect on what you’ve accomplished and what you hope to accomplish. I tackled damn near everything on my Home Improvement List 2013 (The straggler is the laundry area, which is a fairly cheap and easy fix. I’m on it!), and the apartment is in great shape. So this year, I’m thinking bigger.

cs_4068_cardresImprove the photography on Urban Nesting. It’s really kind of sad what little effort I put into the images for the blog. I have a photography minor for goodness sake. And not to toot my own horn, but I was good! But anyway, I’ve already been saving up to buy a new camera.

Run another half marathon, and follow a training regimen this time. I ran my first half in March, but right before the race I went on a week-long vacation so… that kind of threw off my running schedule, which I had essentially made up to begin with. I might just be crazy enough to try a full this year. Maybe.

Really make a commitment to healthy eating. I do great at lunch and generally breakfast, but dinner… that’s the wild card. The key is planning because I refuse to go to a grocery on Sundays or Mondays. Waaaaay too crowded. But I’m not going health-food ninja: I can have cheat meals. Otherwise, I’ll be cranky.

Travel more. I have this awesome new job that provides a decent amount of vacation time, and I intend to use it to its fullest. Non-negotiables: Portland, Washington D.C. Wish list: Puerto Rico, Istanbul. Dream trip: New Zealand.

Meet with a realtor. That’s it. No commitments. I need to basically interview a realtor to figure out if I want to buy a place. Besides I want to move when my lease is up in August anyway, only because my apartment is too small for two people and a cat. Otherwise, I would never move! #apartmentlove

Get the storage area under control. This has really become a problem since Julio moved in. Plus, now the grill is inside for the winter. I need to get some shelving or something… And/or get rid of some stuff. We’ll see.

So, what’s on your list?

(Image: Cardstore)

2 thoughts on “To A New Year!

Leave a Reply

