Online Furniture Shopping, With a Local Twist

Would you buy a big-ticket item online that you’d never actually seen in the flesh? A couch you’d never sat on? A lounge chair you’ve never, well, lounged in? I’m terribly indecisive as it is (and perhaps lack imagination… and/or general geometry skills), so the answer for me would almost certainly be no, but there must be a market for it if sites like 1st Dibs and One Kings Lane thrive. And now it appears some locals are getting in on the game.

Waveland & Clark (why it’s called that I have no idea—for you non-Chicago readers, those two streets intersect right by Wrigley Field) is selling sofas, tables, chairs, etc. direct from the factory to your doorstep. It sounds risky, but from what I can tell from their website, it’s contemporary furniture at fairly affordable prices.

Take this sofa, for instance:

FM095_Maya_2AL_CR_1024x1024-1

Halsted Sectional, $1,299

The two Chicago guys behind Waveland & Clark (who have worked for furniture importers and are hopefully not at all like this) personally “test-drive” each item before it ships. How do I get one of those jobs?

Webster End Table, $129

Webster End Table, $129

Anyway, the real selling point in my mind: There’s a free return policy within 10 days of delivery. The company picks up any rejected item and refunds the purchase price and taxes. With standard ground delivery included in the price, there’s really not much risk involved. (Plus, I love that each furniture item is named after a Chicago street!)

Stetson Chair, $1,299

Stetson Chair and Ottoman, $1,299

So would you order, let’s say, a couch online? Or have you already? Did it go well or were you disappointed?

6 thoughts on “Online Furniture Shopping, With a Local Twist

  1. Are you aware of whether its easy to purchase a circular dining room table
    for 12? For a long time I’ve been searching online but I can’t seem to come across
    any others than very small dining tables

  2. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d certainly donate to this superb blog! I guess
    for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google
    account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this site with my
    Facebook group. Chat soon!

  3. Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing
    many months of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any
    methods to prevent hackers?

  4. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are
    just extremely fantastic. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what
    you are stating and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still take care of
    to keep it smart. I cant wait to read far more from
    you. This is really a great site.

  5. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of
    this website. It’s simple, yet effective.

    A lot of times it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and
    appearance. I must say you’ve done a fantastic job with this.

    In addition, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Internet explorer.
    Excellent Blog!

Leave a Reply

