Need To Read: Domino

I FINALLY got my hands on a copy of Domino‘s relaunch issue! It was announced that it’d hit newsstands last Tuesday, and every. single. day. since then I’d been stopping in the Barnes & Noble near my work to look for it. Luckily I happened to see it in a window of a convenience store on my way to the gym yesterday so I snatched it up.

photoDon’t let the $11.99 price tag deter you. It’s only coming out four time a year, so really it’s like a $48 subscription… OK, so that isn’t the best argument. But come on, it’s practically a collector’s item!

Anyway, I haven’t had a chance to read through the whole thing yet, but it seems to be the same ‘ole Domino to me, the difference (besides some of the staff) being the items featured in the magazine are shoppable on Domino.com. So for instance, if they feature a bar cart that you love, in the caption information it’ll say the name of the item, the price and the web address where you can buy it (domino.com/party-on-wheels).  Put it in your basket, and it’s yours!

I imagine I’ll use it more for inspiration than e-commerce, but it’s an interesting concept, and I’ll be curious to know how it works out for Condé Nast. With this blustery weather and all the good reading materials I have, I won’t be surprised if this is a weekend spent curled up on the couch… Happy Friday, y’all!

Leave a Reply

