Weekend Rewind: These Rears Are In Gear!

Saturday was the Get Your Rear in Gear 5K race to benefit the Colon Cancer Coalition. I managed to raise over $2,000! Can you believe that?! Thank you to everyone who donated! It was all in honor of my dear friend Brenda who passed away last year after a battle with colon cancer. Her husband and one of her sons came up and ran it with me and my friend Reilly. Brenda used to take Reilly and I to belly dancing classes before we got our drivers licenses! She was just that kind of person: always up for something fun and different.

It was steamy for the 8:30 am start (yes, in October), something Brenda wouldn’t have minded at all…

race.jpgMy training dropped off quite a bit because of the transition between jobs and having some extra time off, but somehow I came in third in my age group! I didn’t think I had a particularly good run, but the start/finish line was at the same spot as the half marathon, and it sure felt good to only worrying about 3 miles instead of 13!

The race is over, but if you didn’t have the opportunity to donate, there’s still time! My fundraising page is still active. Or if you were a friend of Brenda’s and you’d be interested in joining up with me to create a team for next year’s Get Your Rear in Gear (or if you’re just in the Chicago area and would like to participate), shoot me an email.

(Image: Thanks for coming to cheer us on, Mom and Dad!)

Leave a Reply

