Foodie Friday: Pumpkin Streusel Muffins

IMG_1453It’s officially October, so you know what that means: pumpkin everything! If you’re not on Pinterest (or you’ve been living under a rock), you may have missed out on the explosion of pumpkin recipes the last couple weeks. I like pumpkin, but I think even more than the taste, I just like the idea of a fall being here. Fall leaves, riding boots, football naps and pumpkin goodies? So. Excited.

Anyway, I decided to give one of ’em a try: the pumpkin streusel muffins from Damn Delicious. I wanted to make a treat to bring into the office (the old one, mind you) to solicit donations for the Get Your Rear in Gear Race tomorrow (there’s still time to donate!). Gimme your loose change, and you get a muffin. It went surprisingly well! I brought in 15 muffins, and walked away with $35.

The muffins were incredibly moist, and partnered with the streusel and the glaze, they were almost like little cakes (in fact, next time I think I’d make them in a mini-muffin tin). My only edit to her recipe would be to add a little more butter to the streusel mix (maybe 3 tablespoons instead of 2) so it comes out extra crumbly. IMG_1457

To avoid a 5 am wake-up call, I baked these at night and added the glaze in the morning (though I’m sure they’re best served fresh out of the oven). If you plan to do the same, make sure the muffins cool completely before putting them in Tupperware. I think I put mine away too quickly because the streusel was a little soft in the morning. Just FYI.

Click here for the full recipe. (By the way, this definitely yielded more than 12 muffins, at least for me!) Do you have a favorite pumpkin recipe? Please share it in Comments.

3 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Pumpkin Streusel Muffins

  1. Tracy Jo says:

    Yum. I love anything pumpkin too. Especially pumpkin ice cream or shakes. The muffins look delish. Hope your walk/run went well today.

    • There’s this really good custard place not far from my apartment, and I think they have a pumpkin flavor this month. I’ll check it out before you come to visit, and we can go there!

Leave a Reply

