Need to Read: Young House Love

If there’s one thing I’m a huge fan of when it comes to Chicago city services, it’s the new Ventra cards…

I kid. I haven’t even gotten mine in the mail yet, but from everything I hear they’re terrible. I’m certainly not holding my breath for something amazing when it comes to the CTA.

No, what I do love is the Chicago Public Library system, and as nerdy as I am, I’m super excited about my new job being close to the biggest one, Harold Washington Library, so I can visit on my lunch breaks.

But I digress. What I’m trying to get to is that I checked out Young House Love: 243 Ways to Paint, Craft, Update & Show Your Home Some Love, and I’m really enjoying reading about all the DIY projects Sherry and John Petersik (they have a blog by the same name) have done over the years and the step-by-step instructions. They cover everything from headboards to IKEA hacks to table runners. One this that I found particularly inspiring was this sidebar:

Stuck? Frustrated? Overwhelmed? That’s par for the DIY course.

Everyone makes mistakes. Look at mistakes as a sign that you’re moving forward, not stagnating. If you’re doing something, even if it turns out to be the wrong something, it’s still teaching you how to get there faster the next time.

Tastes change. Don’t beat yourself up if you have a few things that no longer suit your style. You can always put them on Craigslist or paint them or otherwise adapt them.

Relax; it’s only decorating. Things happen, and sometimes the budget or the time line can get you down, but it’s nice to take a few deep breaths and remember that no one’s life is on the line.

Keep at it. Hang art. Paint. Nearly every design decision can be undone pretty easily. And chances are you’ll like most of what you do, so there’s only a marginal amount of true error in the whole trial-and-error thing.

In the end, it’s all worth it.

Now this is paraphrased, so I recommend you check out (either from your local library, or if you’re too cool for that, it’s on Amazon for only $15) the tome for yourself, but it’s great advice nonetheless!

young-house-love-book(Image: How About Orange)

One thought on “Need to Read: Young House Love

Leave a Reply

