Foodie Friday: S’mores Bars

A friend of mine was a miracle worker and hooked us up with tickets to the Red Sox/Yankees game last weekend in Boston, so last night I set about making him a little token of gratitude: s’mores bars.

S’mores are one of those things I love but rarely eat because, frankly, I don’t go camping all that often and there’s not much of a chance to eat them otherwise. Or so I thought. But recipes for everything s’more have taken Pinterest by storm lately (or at least among those I follow), so I’ve been craving them bad. Crunchy graham cracker. Gooey marshmallow. A touch of chocolate. What’s not to love?

I (mostly) followed Sally’s Baking Addiction‘s recipe for S’mores Cookie Bars. For whatever reason, the graham cracker crumbs in the baking section at my local Jewel were around $4 and I knew it was unlikely that I’d use them again before they went stale, so I just bought regular graham crackers (on sale for around $2) and crushed them myself (I actually used a bottle of Bud Light to “roll” them, ha).

Definitely take Sally’s idea of lining your baking pan with tin foil—makes cleaning up that sticky marshmallow creme a breeze. Same goes for spraying the spatula with cooking spray before trying to spread the creme, the only really tricky part to the recipe. (I’d recommend using more than the 1 cup she calls for, but I really love marshmallows.)

The great thing about this recipe is that once you press the dough into the pan, you can put just about anything in the middle layer. Her traditional s’more calls for marshmallow creme and chocolate chips. But you could also do creme and Nutella. Or peanut butter and chocolate chips. Or caramel spread and nuts. I’m sure they’d all be delicious.

Click here for Sally’s original recipe. And thanks again for the tickets, Nao!

Leave a Reply

