Foodie Friday: Black Bean, Sweet Potato and Corn Burritos

I think I could eat some variety of Mexican food every day for the rest of my life and be perfectly content. It’s just so versatile (and easy!). Have leftover rice? Great, we can use that. No Mexi-corn? Meh, whatever. Flour tortillas instead of corn? OK!

So, my inspiration for this meal came from a recipe floating around Pinterest (via Peas and Crayons) for black bean and sweet potato flautas. While they looked amazing, I don’t really care for store-bought corn tortillas, and I had to add chicken because the boy “can’t” have a meal without meat (though I think if I told him there was chicken in there but didn’t actually put any in, he wouldn’t have known any better—it’s that flavorful!). It kind of took on a life of it’s own after awhile, but it was VERY easy.

Now don’t judge this by it’s presentation. I could have really played it up with lettuce or sour cream or tomatoes… But lay off me, I was starving!

INGREDIENTS
1 package flour tortillas (My favorite are El Milagro‘s whole wheat flour tortillas.)
1 package of shredded cheese
1 can of black beans, drained
1 can of sweet corn or Mexi-corn (with peppers and onions), drained
1 small onion (any kind will work), diced
1 medium sweet potato
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes (or to your taste, I added a little more for a kick)
2-3 tablespoons of your favorite salsa (I used Trader Joe’s Authentic Salsa.)
Salt and pepper to taste
Fresh cilantro to taste
Olive oil
Optional fillings: rice, meat (shredded chicken/pork/steak/chorizo), etc.
Optional garnishes: guacamole, sour cream, lettuce, tomatoes, etc.

Preheat your own to 425F. Stab your sweet potato with a fork a few times, wrap it in a damp paper towel and microwave on high for 6-8 minutes. In the meantime, dice your onion and if you like your onions cooked, throw it in a skillet for a few minutes to brown (highly recommend!). While those cool off a bit, you can mix together the black beans and corn with all your spices. Then fold in your onions and cubed sweet potato (minus the skin). Finally add in the salsa and cilantro, and mix throroughly. At this point, you might want to sneak a bite and see if you want to add more red pepper or a dash of hot sauce perhaps.

Next, wrap your tortillas in a damp paper towel, and microwave on high for 25 seconds. If they’re fresh, you might not need this step; it’s just to make them a little more flexible for rolling. Spray or rub the tortilla with olive oil, flip it over, and add about four tablespoons of the “filling.” Top with as much cheese as you’d like, and roll ’em up! You can use a toothpick to keep it together if need be.

Now if you have a wire baking rack, that’s great. I do not. So I just put a cookie sheet in my oven on the bottom rack, and put the burritos on the rack above that one (the cookie sheet is just to catch any kernels or cheese that may run out, not much did for me because I folded in on all sides) so they’d get crispy on all sides. Bake for 15 minutes, and you’re good to go! If you want, you can also broil for just 30 seconds to a minute at the end to get them extra crispy.

And that’s where I stopped because, like I said, I was staaarving. But it’d probably be a good idea to add garnishes like guacamole, a spritz of lime or even a chipotle ranch dipping sauce. Up to you. A Tecate goes nicely too : )

Now get cooking! Let me know if you try the recipe and like it, or if you have any ideas for improvements. Happy Friday, all!

Leave a Reply

