Foodie Friday: The Lobby

You can’t take me anywhere.

I was absolutely that girl taking pictures of her food in the middle of a fine dining restaurant. But I sacrificed my reputation for you, trusty reader, so you could see how freaking amazing The Lobby is (though I didn’t get a picture of what might have been my favorite thing that night: passionfruit souffle!).

So The Lobby is in, well, the lobby of the The Peninsula right off Michigan Avenue. I never would have known about it (nor been able to afford it!) had I not been invited to this work event. Apparently it’s the place to go for afternoon tea, but we went for dinner. We got to try four of the appetizers, and then split the whole roasted chicken for two.

Holy crap. First of all, people don’t go to nice restaurants and order chicken. Chicken can only be so good, right? Wrong. This was the best chicken I’ve ever had in my life. Served with marbled potatoes and ramps (which are apparently all the rage right now), the breast meat actually has brioche crumbs underneath the skin and the butter allows it to crisp from the top and the bottom. Lee Wolen, you are some kind of genius.

All of the appetizers were great too. I think my favorite with the ricotta gnocchi (actually a gnudi, by the way). Oftentimes places try to mix too many flavors into one dish and it just doesn’t work, but at The Lobby, somehow, they all worked in harmony. And I know what some of you are thinking, but despite the portion size, they were satisfying. Honest!

2 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: The Lobby

  1. tia Cindy says:

    My only comment is YOU tried octopus???? Uncle Fritz would be so proud!! BTW, think this sounds like a Cindy place to go, don’t you?….I mean, along with niece Kelsey, of course!

Leave a Reply

