Foodie Friday: Fried Chicken Sandwich with Pickle Slaw

Guys, you’re not going to believe this. Hell, I barely believe it myself.

Me, the non-cook just six months ago, made something from the cover of Bon Appétit.

Gm5jPAnd it turned out awesome! Julio says it’s the best thing I’ve ever made (which could not be saying a whole lot, ha). It’s a fried chicken sandwich with pickle slaw and spicy mayo… BOOM!

I was so focused on getting it all right that I didn’t even take pictures of all the steps. But that’s ok; it’s a really easy recipe to follow. I did make a couple tweaks though:

For the slaw: I don’t like bread and butter pickles, so I subbed in dill and it came out just fine. But be careful how much fresh jalapeno you put in there if you don’t like spicy foods. I made it a day in advance so the cabbage would soak up the flavors.

For the chicken: OK, there’s no way the chicken on the cover is a breast halved crosswise—look at that thing! But I bought the thin sliced breasts at Trader Joe’s not knowing just how thin they’d be… well, let me tell you, it’s a step above deli meat. But we just put two on each sandwich, and it tasted great! I don’t have the deep-fry thermometer (and I thought buying one would only encourage me to deep fry everything) BA suggests, so I just eyeballed it. I imagine doing a regular-sized breast would make that more difficult.

For the buns: Is it just me or are Trader Joe’s bread products pretty weak? Well, except the pretzel rolls, which are phenomenal. I didn’t feel like going to another grocery just to get white buns, so we gave it a shot with pretzel, and I think the substantial-ness of the pretzel really helped keep the sandwich together. I didn’t warm the rolls with butter, like the recipe says; I just tossed them in the oven for a couple minutes. (This is already a not-very-healthy recipe, so I figured skipping the butter was a good call.)

IMG_0915Oh my god, my mouth is majorly watering right now just remembering how freaking delicious these were. I’ll definitely be making them again. Maybe tonight…

Click here for the recipe.

4 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Fried Chicken Sandwich with Pickle Slaw

Leave a Reply

