Sharing is Caring

It’s amazing what you can do in 36 hours. That’s how much notice I had that I’d be getting a roommate. Or two.

If you noticed the posts were a bit sparse at the end of last week, that’s because I was frantically trying to clean out space in my apartment for my boyfriend. He moved in with me on Saturday, albeit only temporarily. There’s a chance he’s going to run for public office and that likely means a move to Logan Square—but it’s a waiting game at the moment to see who else makes a move. But his lease was up so he had to go!

Don’t get me wrong: I’m happy to host him. The cat… not so much.

But I digress. The move turned out to be a great exercise in my decluttering skills. I cleaned out my drawers (no pun intended… so he’d have somewhere to put clothes), completely reorganized my coat closet, and even cleared out my pantry and fridge (it was past due, literally). After about five trips to the garbage and recycling bins and dumping a trunk-load of stuff off at the thrift store, we were in business! The place is in tip-top shape.

Now I should say that he moved most of his things into a storage unit since this is just for the time being. So that means I even had time to move all the furniture in my living room! I guess moving all his stuff had me inspired…

It’s pretty much exactly the same as it was but flip-flopped. I like it better though because when people walk in, the first thing they see isn’t the TV anymore. And even though it’s all the same stuff, moving things around makes a room somehow feel fresh and new again.

One thought on “Sharing is Caring

Leave a Reply

