Foodie Friday: Thai Noodles

It’s official: I can cook Asian food! OK, maybe that’s too sweeping of a statement—I can make one Thai dish. But for someone who just a few months ago considered herself a non-cook, I think it’s pretty darn good that I experimented with a cuisine that most Americans only know from take-out menus. I mean, who owns sesame oil? (And now I know why people don’t: It’s expensive!)

So anyway, I borrowed a recipe from A Small Snippet and got to work. Now the big difference between her recipe and what I did is that she serves it cold. I tried it both cold and hot, and I think it’s so much better warmed up! But the nice thing is that it’s edible either way, and it also reheats well in the microwave the next day (leave off the garnishes until after it’s heated). I also added chicken that I’d marinated in teriyaki sauce, and I squeezed a lime over it all right before serving.

There’s really not a ton you’ll need: linguine, vegetable oil, sesame oil, crushed red pepper, honey, soy sauce, carrot, cilantro and peanuts; lime and chicken optional. Now, she really cautions against using too much red pepper. I used about 3/4 tablespoon, and honestly it wasn’t enough. I know it’s hard to judge since each person is different, but I like spicy food as long as it doesn’t distract from the flavors (if my mouth is numb, I’m not really tasting anything). It could’ve used a bit more kick, so I’ll probably try 1 1/4 tablespoon next time and see how it goes.

Look how beautiful it is with all the garnishes!

Click here for the recipe from A Small Snippet. What do you think—better hot or cold? Leave your comments below!

2 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Thai Noodles

  1. Tia says:

    Can’t tell you how impressed I am….and you know, I am not easily impressed! Will be anxious to compare your Thai noodles to the real thing when I come home!!

Leave a Reply

