A Midcentury Mother’s Day

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 9.43.06 PM

I’m at Trader Joe’s this weekend, and as the cashier hands me the receipt, she nonchalantly adds “Happy Mother’s Day.”

Happy Mother’s Day?! Holy crap, do I look like a mom? Wait, I could be a mother of like a five year old, and it wouldn’t be all that scandalous… I immediately turned around and went back in for a pint of ice cream.

Just kidding. Well not about the feeling old part, but about the ice cream. So I started thinking about all the stuff that comes along with a kid and how that has got to change one’s design aesthetic (where the hell are you supposed to put all those toys?). You know me, I love midcentury design, but I can’t imagine it’d fair well with kids.

Projectofile agrees. Check out their great tongue-in-cheek commentary (a PSA of sorts) in “15 Mid-Century Modern Dream Homes that will Kill Your Children.” Enjoy! And happy belated Mother’s Day to all the actual moms out there!

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 9.36.33 PM

(Images: Projectophile)

Leave a Reply

