Breaking news: THIS IS IT!

I signed on a new place!!! I am beyond excited and relieved. I wasn’t sleeping because I was so stressed out about the search! And now it’s over yesssssssssssss

So here’s what went down: I found a listing on Padmapper for a building off the Irving Park brown line stop. I snuck out of work early to go see it because I knew it’d go fast – and good thing I did! There were actually two open units, and by the time I got there (5 p.m.), one had already been signed on (after 3-4 viewings during lunchtime). I literally ran home (supes sweaty) to get my checkbook and filled out the application at red lights on the way back. They ran by credit and background check, and I passed! I signed the lease this weekend, and I move in August 1. THANK. GOD.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

PROS (ah, SO many!)
Separate dining/living/kitchen
Huge bedroom
Central heat and AC (NO window units!)
Yard
Lots of storage
Near the train
North Center location
Walking distance to Wrigley Field
Manager in building
Second floor
No-permit street parking
Middle unit (a pro in the sense that hopefully the floor below me will help keep my unit warm in the winter!)
Nice, big windows (and a cross breeze!)

CONS (you can’t win them all)
Apartment building instead of a house
Coin-operated laundry
Potential pain moving with a stairwell
August move-in (actually the extra time could be good now that it’s so late)

This place is only a block from Mayor Emanuel’s house. Think our street will be the first to plowed in the winter? That’d be a pretty awesome pro. But the biggest pro? No more trolling Craigslist!

DISCLAIMER: The living room will not be Flubber-colored when I move in.

One thought on “Breaking news: THIS IS IT!

Leave a Reply

