Apartment No. 7: Great location, mediocre apartment

Apartment No. 6 was snatched up before I could even get in front of a computer (and it wasn’t even that great!), so I’ll skip that one and move No. 7.

First of all, I called Friday to set up this appointment for 6 p.m. on Tuesday, and the lady called to confirm on Sunday. Then she calls me at 5:55 p.m. asking when I thought I’d be there… I told her I’d be there at 6 p.m. So I show up at 5:59 p.m., and she’s nowhere to be found. I call her; she doesn’t answer. I wait 10 minutes and call her again. Nothing. I’m getting ready to leave, and she shows up at 6:20 p.m. Really? REALLY? Your trying to sell me something here; don’t piss me off before I even see it.

So things didn’t start off on the best foot. And actually things didn’t get a whole lot better until I started walking home and realized the location would be fantastic! It’s close to the Damen/Irving Park/Lincoln intersection, so plenty of buses to take me to really any part of the city I’d want to go to (and some places I wouldn’t). And it’s only three blocks from the Irving Park brown line. But does location trump a so-so apartment?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

PROS
Great location, only three blocks from the train, near convenient buses
Heat included, though radiator heat
Good amount of space (hard to tell with all this guy’s stuff!)
Free storage locker in the basement

CONS
Apartment complex, 16 units
No AC, can install window units
No outdoor space
Two washers, two dryers for entire building
Old-ish bathroom

Meh. I’ll keep it in mind but keep looking.

Leave a Reply

