Ready… set…

You know how I thought the Race to Wrigley went really well? Turns out that might not be the case – appears I’ve suffered a stress fracture in my foot. I don’t know that for sure, but it hurts like hell. I had it X-rayed (by an idiot savant, btw) and all appears normal, but I guess stress fractures don’t show up on X-rays anyway. It’s very mysterious though since I had no symptoms until Thursday night…

So anyway, since I spent most of the past three days observing R.I.C.E. (Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation) and have nothing fun to report in Weekend Rewind, I’ll pass along an article (good find, Mom!) from the Tribune about about how quickly apartments are being snatched up in Chicago. Hopefully my foot will heal in time for the July listings in case I need to outrun the competition!

Apartment hunting in a tight market

By Sharon Stangenes, Special to Tribune Newspapers

When she returned to Chicago recently after several years absence, Rita Ciolek was surprised by how much renting had changed. Prices for downtown apartments had skyrocketed, incentives like one or two months’ free rent were gone and desirable units disappeared at warp speed.

Most units go within 24 to 48 hours,” said Ciolek, a 37-year-old tax accountant, who lost one apartment because she thought about it for 24 hours…

Click here to continue reading on Tribune.com

Leave a Reply

