Foodie Fridays: Roots

I didn’t know the Quad Cities had their own style of pizza before I heard about Roots opening. I have a coworker from Moline, and we anxiously awaited to eat there for MONTHS. Seriously. And I’m not going to lie, it was worth the wait, and it seems to get better each time.

Apparently QC is known for their taco pizza – sausage pizza with lettuce, tomatoes (I get no tomatoes), crushed tortilla chips and taco sauce. I really have to be in the mood for that, but even the sausage alone is delicious. It has some kind of malty crust that’s nice and crispy. It’s hard to explain. Look at the pics:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Anyway, mozzarella sticks, caesar salads, spinach-roasted red pepper-artichoke mini calzones (doesn’t sound like me, but it’s creamy and delicious), it’s all good. I want to try a corn dog next time. The only thing I wouldn’t recommend is the Asian chicken salad. Tastes like dry coleslaw…But they have Goose Island Sofie, so it makes up for one disappointing entree (their salads are huge, by the way).

Eat here. Roots, 1924 W. Chicago Ave. B+

Leave a Reply

