Sign up now: Pinterest

Trusty readers, if you haven’t heard of Pinterest, you should really go to their site and request an invite. I’ve heard mixed reviews on how long it takes to get an account – I got mine in about one day (they could probably just sense that I’d be an awesome judge of style…), but I saw someone on Facebook say they’ve been waiting weeks.

But anyway, it’s a new social media website where you set up “boards” (my boards are Products To Try, Favorite Places and Spaces, My Style, Restaurants to Try and For the Home – of course – but you can choose any categories you like), and then when you’re surfing the web and you find something you like or want to remember, you “Pin It” to whatever board it corresponds to. It basically just takes the image from the page you’re on, and posts it on your board with a link to that site, like a digital bulletin board. See what I mean?

Keep reading about how awesome Pinterest is after the jump!

I haven’t gotten very far along, but I love, love, love the concept. About a year ago when I began thinking about getting my own place, I started an list of links to home ideas that I just kept in my email draft messages. Pinterest is a much more organized and visual way to do this same thing. I need to go back and open those links and Pin them instead. I also have a friend who is using Pinterest to organize her wedding ideas.

You can also follow friends and “Tastemakers” and like their pins or repin them on your own boards. Not many of my friends have signed up yet, so request an invite now and LOOK ME UP!

11 thoughts on “Sign up now: Pinterest

    • Hmmm maybe there is a longer wait list now. I just sent you an invite. If you don’t get it, make sure Pinterest emails aren’t going to your spam! Also, I think they make you sign up via Facebook or Twitter now, just an FYI.

  1. Linda Schexnayder says:

    I am very creative in many areas, baking, gardening, landscaping, painting, drawing, photography. Love to be creative!!!

Leave a Reply

